2020 Robert Traver Fly Fishing Writing Award

The John D. Voelker Foundation and the American Museum of Fly Fishing (AMFF) are pleased to announce the 2020 Robert Traver Fly Fishing Writing Award (the Traver Award). The Award is named after Robert Traver, pen name for the late John Voelker, author of Trout Madness, Trout Magic, Anatomy of a Fisherman, the fine historical novel Laughing Whitefish, and the 1958 best seller Anatomy of a Murder.

• The joy of fly-fishing: personal and philosophic experience

• Ecology: knowledge and protection of the natural world

• Humor: piscatorial friendships and fun on the water

Since the Award’s inception, twenty awards have been given for the winning entry. Two anthologies of the Traver Award winning essays were published in two volumes: In Hemingway’s Meadow (2009) and Love Story of the Trout (2010).

Submissions for the 2020 award are due by May 1st and the winner will receive a prize of $2500.

To learn more or to submit an entry click HERE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *